Daycare Tax Tips


Minimum Wage Laws in California

Statewide and local rates

Please Note: I try to keep this page up-to-date, but cannot guarantee 100% accuracy. Please do the research for your particular locality.


California employers must pay hourly workers at least the state minimum wage, which is currently $10.00 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees (effective January 1, 2017).

The statewide minimum wage for employers with 25 or fewer employees will increase according to this schedule:

-- $10.50 per hour on January 1, 2018

--$11.00 per hour on January 1, 2019

--$12.00 per hour on January 1, 2020

--$13.00 per hour on January 1, 2021

--$14.00 per hour on January 1, 2022

--$15.00 per hour on January 1, 2023.


IT IS IMPORTANT TO DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH TO BE SURE YOU ARE PAYING YOUR EMPLOYEES THE MINIMUM WAGE FOR YOUR LOCATION AND WHICH EMPLOYEES ARE AFFECTED. SOME CITY MINIMUM WAGE LAWS MAY NOT APPLY TO FAMILY MEMBERS OR OTHER TYPES OF EMPLOYEES.

Read further for minimum wage that apply in certain California cities.

Berkeley minimum wage is $13.75 per hour (effective October 1, 2017). It will increase to $15.00 per hour on October 1, 2018. Family employees (parents, spouses, and children) are not covered by the city minimum wage.

Cupertino minimum wage is $12.00 per hour (effective January 1, 2017). It will increase to $13.50 per hour on January 1, 2018 and to $15.00 per hour on January 1, 2019.

El Cerrito minimum wage is $12.25 per hour (effective January 1, 2017). It will increase to $13.60 per hour on January 1, 2018 and to $15.00 per hour on January 1, 2019. Family employees (parents, spouses, and children) are not covered by the city minimum wage.

Emeryville minimum wage is $14.00 per hour for employers with 55 or fewer employees (effective July 1, 2017). It will increase to $15.00 per hour on July 1, 2018 and be indexed for inflation after that.

Los Altos minimum wage is $12.00 per hour (effective January 1, 2017).

Los Angeles minimum wage is $10.50 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees (effective July 1, 2017). It will increase to $13.25 per hour on July 1, 2018, to $14.25 per hour on July 1, 2018, and to $15.00 per hour on July 1, 2020.

Malibu minimum wage is $10.50 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees (effective July 1, 2017). It will increase to $12.00 per hour on July 1, 2018, to $13.25 per hour on July 1, 2019, to $14.25 on July 1, 2020, and to $15.00 per hour on July 1, 2021.

Milpitas minimum wage is $11.00 per hour (effective July 1, 2017). It will increase to $12.00 per hour on January 1, 2018, to $13.50 per hour on July 1, 2018, and to $15.00 per hour on July 1, 2019. After that, the rate is scheduled to increase annually based on the Bay Area Consumer Price Index.

Mountain View minimum wage is $13.00 per hour (effective January 1, 2017). It will increase to $15.00 on January 1, 2018.

Oakland minimum wage is 12.86 per hour (effective January 1, 2017). Both the city minimum wage and paid sick leave law apply to employees who work at least two hours per week. Employees can accrue up to 72 hours of sick leave, one hour for every 30 hours worked. When the employer has less than 10 employees, employees accrue up to only 40 hours.

Palo Alto minimum wage is $12.00 per hour (effective January 1, 2017). It will increase to $13.50 per hour on January 1, 2018 and to $15.00 per hour on January 1, 2019. After that, the rate is scheduled to increase annually based on the Bay Area Consumer Price Index.

Richmond minimum wage is $12.30 per hour (effective January 1, 2017). It will increase to $13.00 per hour on January 1, 2018. After that it will be adjusted per the Consumer Price Index.

San Diego minimum wage is $11.50 per hour (effective January 1, 2017). After that it will be adjusted per the Consumer Price Index.

San Francisco minimum wage is $14.00 per hour (effective January 1, 2017). It will increase to $15.00 per hour on July 1, 2018. After that it will be adjusted per the Consumer Price Index. It looks like paid sick leave has been in effect in San Francisco since January 2007. SF sick leave rules are similar to the details of the Oakland ordinance mentioned above.

San Leandro minimum wage is $12.00 per hour (effective July 1, 2017). It will increase to $13.00 per hour on July 1, 2018, to $14.00 per hour on July 1, 2019, and to $15.00 per hour on July 1, 2020.

San Mateo minimum wage is $12.00 per hour (effective January 1, 2017). It will increase to $13.50 on January 1, 2018, and to $15.00 per hour on January 1, 2019. After that it will be adjusted per the Consumer Price Index.

San Jose minimum wage is $12.00 per hour (effective January 1, 2017). It will increase to $13.50 per hour on January 1, 2018.

Santa Clara minimum wage is $11.10 per hour (effective January 1, 2017). It will increase to $13.00 on January 1, 2018 and to $15.00 per hour on January 1, 2019. After that, the rate is scheduled to increase annually based on the San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area (CMSA).

Santa Monica minimum wage is $10.50 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees (effective January 1, 2017). It will increase to $12.00 per hour on January 1, 2018, to $13.25 per hour on January 1, 2019, to $14.25 per hour on January 1, 2020, and to $15.00 per hour on January 1, 2021.


If you see anything on this page that is inaccurate or you know of any other local minimum wage or sick leave laws, please let me know.


Last updated 18 September 2017

Posted on 2013-11-17 01:51:30

Top